Updated - Feb. 8: SJI PHD special meeting to appoint new board members

Barbara Sharp, a former Hospital Board Commissioner, is one of the seven candidates for the two open positions on San Juan County Public Hospital District #1 Commission. The six others are Dr. Warren Appleton, Dr. David Balmer, John Manning,  C. Mitchell Shlosser, Rebecca Smith and David Meiland.

(EDITORS's NOTE: An earlier posting listed Keri Talbott as a candidate. She withdrew her name after the original article was posted.)

The positions became open after Chair Bill Williams and Monica Harrington resigned last month. Harrington is moving off-island to take a position with a clean energy tech company in British Columbia. 

The Commission will choose two new board members during a  special meeting/work session at 5 p.m. Thursday, February 8, 2018 in the Frank Wilson Memorial EMS Building, 1079 Spring Street in Friday Harbor.



Opening Remarks – Pamela Hutchins, Superintendent

Public Comments

Each candidate has the opportunity to make a three-minute opening statement.

Candidate Questions from Commissioners

Dr. Warren Appleton

Dr. David Balmer

John Manning

Barbara Sharp

C. Mitchell Shlosser

Rebecca Smith

Keri Talbott

Final Commissioner Questions/Comments 

Plurality Vote for Position 5

Winner of Position 5 Sworn in Ceremony

Any Additional Commissioner Questions/Comments

Plurality Vote for Position 3

Winner of Position 3 Sworn in Ceremony

NOTICE OF FUNDING OPPORTUNITY FOR SJCPHD#1; Rural Health Network Development Planning Program; San Juan County Coordinated Care Network Grant

Introduction – Chair

Presentation – Pamela Hutchins, Superintendent

Action Items

Closing Comments


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

back to top