A+ A A-

Election: Orcas Fire levy fails, Goodhart, Appleton, Hansen, Ehrmantraut, Gaylord, Kartiganer elected

The unofficial results of the November 7, 2023 general election are posted on San Juan County's website. Turnout was a low 29.24 percent with 4,305 ballots cast out of 14,725.

The levy for  San Juan County Fire District No. 2 (Orcas Island) was overwhelmingly defeated,  354 for and 1055 against. Orcas Island voters elected Kate Hansen, Randy Gaylord and  Brian Ehrmantraut to the San Juan County Fire District No. 2 Commission.  Brian Ehrmantraut 1,098 vs Alan Stameisen 232, Randy Gaylord   1,016  vs Nicholas Ion Negulescu 344. In the closest Fire District #2 race,  it is Kate Hansen 756  vs Toni Knudson 652. There are still more ballots to count. 

The closest contest, is the race for Position 3 on the Port of Orcas Commission. Less than 36 votes separate Mia Kartiganer (698) and Rick Fant (662).

On San Juan Island, Rich Goodhart beat Greg Hertel 1183 to 525. They were running for the Port of Friday Harbor Commissioner position held by Victoria Compton who stepped down due to health reasons. 

Also on San Juan Island, Warren Appleton beat Jerry Henderson 970 to 682 for a position on the San Juan Island Fire Commission. The position was vacant after former Commissioner Albert Olsan resigned when he moved to Arizona. 

Two other levy questions - San Juan County Public Hospital District No. 2 Proposition No. 1 - Restoring Regular Property Tax Levy passed. Yes 583 to No 325

Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District - Proposition No. 1 - Excess Property Tax Levy for 2024 passed easily, Yes 774 No 150. This annual levy provides funds to operate the highly popular Lopez dump (transfer station).

All other races were uncontested. The complete results can be viewed here




Leave a comment

Comments are welcome as long as they are civil, do not include personal attacks, and pertain to the subject. In order to avoid being overrun by spam, comments are reviewed before they are posted.