Print this page

Leadership San Juan Islands celebrates its 15th Graduating Class

The graduation ceremony for the 15th Class of Leadership San Juan Islands will take place from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Friday, May 3 at the San Juan Island Grange, located at 152 First Street in Friday Harbor.

The graduation speaker will be LSJI alum and Skagit Valley Community College professor Laura Cailloux. The public is invited to this potluck lunch and presentation of the service projects completed by Cohort XV.

LSJI is a county-wide tuition-based program designed to educate and motivate community members interested in developing their professional leadership skills and to facilitate their learning about issues affecting San Juan County. On April 30, 2004, a handful of civic-minded islanders gathered to found a program that would increase our community’s ability to govern itself as it respond to 21st century opportunities and challenges. Modeling the course after leadership programs offered throughout the country, the founders established Leadership San Juan Islands with the ambitious goal of ensuring that “the future of the islands will be decided in the islands.”

The 15 graduates have completed a professional development program comprising 11 days across Orcas, Lopez, and San Juan Islands, studying the government, ecology, economics, arts, history, and social services of the Islands. Students have further developed their leadership and public speaking skills, and have delved into some of the important issues facing our island archipelago. Students have also earned course credit with Skagit Valley College. Congratulations to the 2019 graduating class.

From Lopez Island

Susannah Dunlap

Meike Meissner

Marly Schmidtke

From Orcas Island

Tara Anderson

Stephanie Cave'

Erik Koehler

Travis Neal

River Sky

Jessica Tokarchuk

From San Juan Island

Cathleen Burns

Brandon Cadwell

Jenny Fouquette

Summer Groseclose

Courtney Smith

Erin Wygant

For more information about how to get involved with LSJI, visit www.lsji.org


copyright 1999-2020